Summer Reads and Writes

meadow1

Run through the meadow.
Splash into the brook.
Roar through the fields.
Dive into a good book.

What did I say? Dive into a good book?
Right !

Free online books and poetry:

Now write online about your reading or write about a connection or story of your own from your reading with these tools:

Run through the meadow.
Splash into the brook.
Roar through the fields.
Dive into a good book.

Pick the field flowers.
Write your own story.
Comment back here.
Share your glory.

Share what you read,
The story you penned-
Details- your voice
In our minds, now opened.

Comment back here
With a link to your work
Share so we learn
Writing is Hard, Fun Work.

Adapted from my post at What Else 2 Learn

6 thoughts on “Summer Reads and Writes

  1. Sheri, I took your advice and used Storybird to tell about my summer readings. I have known about Storybird for a good while, but I had yet to try it! I loved the process of choosing the image first and then adding the words. I am absolutely tickled with the results! What fun.

    Here is my personification poem about traditional literature, which I have been reading with my children’s lit students.
    http://storybird.com/books/i-am-traditional-literature/

    Thanks for the challenge!
    Denise

    1. Thanks for sharing such an excellent example of Storybird. It is one I will share with my students to see if they catch the inferences or know the stories. Will they be able to recognize them? Will they be able to find them online or in the library? What great discussions we can have about why you chose the references you did. Thank you !

  2. I have a personal account and no stories yet. I listened to a webinar about it the end of May. As I reviewed my account, I noticed that teacher accounts for classes are available: http://storybird.com/teachers/

    I will start there — students do not need email accounts and the teacher has a dashboard. Sounds sweet!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *